My Pure Clean Home

Discovering chemical-free clean…one mess at a time.

Easy Craft Table How-To

1 Comment

I homeschool two days a week and needed an inexpensive, large space to do school work. Maybe you need space for scrapbooking or crafts?

Thanks to Google…I discovered you can take 2 of these

Assemble and turn it on its side….Now you have a 24 1/2″H x 36″ W base

Go to a home improvement store and get one of these slab doors

Because….it is exactly 36″  perrrrrrrfect!! And the best part…it is EIGHTY inches long!!

Get a can of paint and paint the top of the door (we used a fun green on one side and chalkboard paint on the other)

and buy some of these…or something like it…

Oh…use some L-Brackets to screw the door on the cubbies (underneath) although mine is just sitting on it…sort of held down by the fish tank 🙂

and…

VOILA!  A ginormous table (well…36″ x 80″ is big enough for us and 4 chairs!)

And another “best” part….if we keep this around long enough for the kids to grow out…we can flip it the other direction.

Or….if your kids, tweens or teens are already big enough…get the 9 cube cubby…

Okay so one more “best” part….you know those really little “kid” chairs that normally come with or accompany the kids tables …well…we have them…and they are not comfortable

Just to give us something to sit on…I lugged some IKEA chairs I had downstairs to see if they’d work and they are the PERFECT height for the kids to sit comfortably and I can even fit my legs under the table while still sitting on a human chair.

But basically any 35″ H chair or less…(you can totally use kid chairs) will do.

I found this set of 2 at Wally Mart for under $80

Okay and the final “best” part:

Stackable Cubbies $35 x2 = $70.00

Door $30.00 (although if you have an old door or counter top remnant…you can make it free-ninety-free!)

I bought 6 fabric storage cubbies @ $6.00 each = $36.00

Quart o’ paint…$15 ish?

About $150 bucks for a customized, HUGE, super cute table….

20130219_093657

One thought on “Easy Craft Table How-To

  1. The desk in my bedroom growing up was a door and 2 metal filing cabinets and it worked great. Thanks for reminding me of this concept! I think we’ll try painting the door with dry erase paint. And great knowing there is a place to find the cubbies inexpensive.

Leave a comment